Message info
 
To:KDE Games From:Albert Astals Cid Subject:Re: [Kde-games-devel] Review Request: Increase the Row Height of Kiriki Date:Thu, 05 Apr 2012 21:14:16 -0000
 

This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit: http://svn.reviewboard.kde.org/r/6931/

On April 1st, 2012, 9:16 p.m., Albert Astals Cid wrote:

Some comments: 
 * Please make so that the font change is applied immediately not on new game start
 * Let the user choose the font size in points not in an arbitrary 0 to 10 scale

On April 2nd, 2012, 5:14 a.m., Arjun Basu wrote:

On making the changes appear immediately , the rows take time to resize to the changed font size, which doesn't look so good visually. Should I still implement that.
I didn't understand your second point completely, regarding choosing the font size in points, are you implying that the user should get to choose the actual point size of the font?

On April 2nd, 2012, 4:41 p.m., Albert Astals Cid wrote:

How much time is "time"?

And yes, the user should get to choose the point size, it's something they've been doing for ages in word processors so feels much more natural than an arbitrary 0 to 10 scale

On April 2nd, 2012, 4:49 p.m., Arjun Basu wrote:

Actually, I kind of said it wrong.Actually on increasing the font size instantly, the rows don't increase in height to accommodate the change in font size until they are clicked.
And what is the default point size for kiriki? 

On April 2nd, 2012, 5:03 p.m., Albert Astals Cid wrote:

The default point size for kiriki is the default point size of the QFont of the system

On April 3rd, 2012, 4:02 a.m., Arjun Basu wrote:

Ok I will make the change and you didn't say anything whether I should do the font change immediately or on game restart

On April 3rd, 2012, 9:01 a.m., Albert Astals Cid wrote:

Immediately, fixing the issue that you need to click on them for the resize to happen.

On April 3rd, 2012, 4:58 p.m., Arjun Basu wrote:

I am working on the resize thing, for that I think I need to redraw the game canvas without destroying the existing data, any idea how I can do that. I can delete the m_scores object and reinitialize it but that destroys the existing play state 

On April 3rd, 2012, 5:05 p.m., Arjun Basu wrote:

One thing can be done though, the canvas resizes itself when a new game is started. Can we give the user notification that the changes to the font size will be made from the next game onwards?

On April 3rd, 2012, 5:14 p.m., Frederik Schwarzer wrote:

You could try to find out what makes it resize and trigger that when settings have changed.

On April 3rd, 2012, 6:04 p.m., Albert Astals Cid wrote:

It is good that the resizing is done after applying not on next game since it's actually "easy". I know how to do it but i'm not going to tell you since the point of JJ is for you to learn Qt/KDE, so i'm just going to give you a few pointers. Look at what class m_scores is and look at which method it has that may be useful for you, specially having into account in which method you are returning which is the font that should be used

On April 5th, 2012, 7:15 a.m., Arjun Basu wrote:

I figured out the method in the scores class. I think it is this QVariant scores::data(const QModelIndex &index, int role). But I am having some problems regarding which parameter to pass as the role parameter. Using the kError() output I found that it is called multiple times. If you could provide a little help here, It would be great.
You got it backwards, the data() function is what you are returning in your model, you don't need to call data(), since calling data() will do nothing (note that data() is const, i.e. basically a getter). What you need to do is inform those calling data() that your internal data has changed.

- Albert


On March 31st, 2012, 9:30 p.m., Arjun Basu wrote:

http://svn.reviewboard.kde.org/media/rb/images/review_request_box_top_bg.png'); background-position: left top; background-repeat: repeat-x; border: 1px black solid;">
Review request for KDE Games.
By Arjun Basu.

Updated March 31, 2012, 9:30 p.m.

Description

This is in response to the feature request https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=225582. Now, there is a provision of increasing the font size and as a result the row height increases too. The value of the font size in the preferences can take values from 0 to 10. O being the default font size.

Testing

I have tested it and it works fine

Diffs

  • /trunk/KDE/kdegames/kiriki/src/configPage.ui (1282954)
  • /trunk/KDE/kdegames/kiriki/src/kiriki.cpp (1282954)
  • /trunk/KDE/kdegames/kiriki/src/kiriki.kcfg (1282954)
  • /trunk/KDE/kdegames/kiriki/src/row.h (1282954)
  • /trunk/KDE/kdegames/kiriki/src/scores.h (1282954)
  • /trunk/KDE/kdegames/kiriki/src/scores.cpp (1282954)

View Diff

Screenshots

The New Preferences Dialog The Game Canvas after increasing font size